Take five – ITEC Awards, bigger and better than ever before

July 13, 2018 8:11 am

As the closing date for entries for the TEC Services Association (TSA) inaugural ITEC awards approaches, TSA Chief Executive Alyson Scurfield explains why the awards are bigger and better than ever before.

Those of you who have previously attended the TSA annual conference may have noticed that the Crystal Awards and the Driving Digital Award have been replaced this year with the ITEC Awards; with ITEC representing Innovation, Integration and Improvement using Technology Enabled Care. The Crystal Awards, which were introduced in 2010, were won by some fantastic organisations and projects over the years, but we wanted to open up our annual awards to a wider audience, and so the team at TSA worked together with member representatives to review and reformat the way we recognise achievement in the sector.

There are now five categories of award:

  • Innovation in TEC Award
  • Integrated TEC Services Award
  • Individual TEC Leadership Award
  • Impact in TEC Team Award
  • International TEC Award

 Whilst the ITEC Awards still retain the original spirit and purpose of the previous Award, in showcasing innovation and best practice in the TEC sector, they are now more inclusive in many ways:

  • The awards can now be entered by any organisation, whether members of TSA or not, in recognition of their contribution to the sector.
  • There are now categories that are people-focused, with awards for individuals and teams, as well as organisations.
  • The categories are targeted to be relevant to a broader range of organisations and projects.
  • We’ve made it easier to apply, with a more focused set of requirements which enable organisations of all sizes to enter.
  • We’ve opened up the awards to organisations operating outside the UK, to enable global experience and expertise to be shared.

Organisations shortlisted for the awards will be notified on 10th September, and the winners announced at the International Technology Enabled Care Conference gala dinner on the evening of 16th October.

Deadline for entries is 10th August, which will soon be here, so if you haven’t started working on your entry yet, make it a priority for this week!

The conference takes place on 16-17th October at the ICC in Birmingham, and I look forward to seeing you there.

You can find out more about the awards at www.itecconf.org.uk/itec-awards-2018, and if you’d like to enter you might like to read my previous blog which gives some top tips for entrants http://itecconf.org.uk/2018/06/18/take-five-top-tips-for-entering-the-prestigious-itec-awards/

Good luck!