Discover our Speakers


Time: Conference Chair, Day:

Rt Hon Prof Paul Burstow

President of TSA and former Care Minister

Paul has a wide range of public policy and leadership experience. He currently holds a number of non-executive leadership roles across the health and social care sector. He was recently appointed as the Independent Chair of Hertfordshire and West Essex Sustainable Transformation Partnership (STP) where he is working with system partners across local government, NHS and community and voluntary sector to develop population health working and integrated care.

Paul For 18 years Paul represented the constituency of Sutton and Cheam as a Liberal Democrat. He was appointed Minister of State for Care Services in 2010, during which time he was responsible for developing the government’s mental health strategy, No Health Without Mental Health, and for drafting the care provisions of the Care Act.

He is also Chair of the independent charity SCIE (The Social Care Institute for Excellence) which works with local government, independent sector and Government by sharing knowledge about what works, translating policy into practice and supporting transformation to improve the lives of people who use care services. He combines his interests in social care with an interest in technology enabled care (TEC) as President of the TEC Services Association (TSA) where he advocates citizen centred service design that makes the best use of data and technology to enhance outcomes.

Paul interests in mental health saw him appointed Chair of the Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation Trust where he is involved in promoting the Trust’s work in developing and deploying new models of children and young people’s mental health and new approaches to workplace resilience.

Chief Executive, TSA

Chair, Nottingham and Nottinghamshire Integrated Care System

Chief Executive of the United Kingdom Homecare Association (UKHCA)

Co-Director, The Institute for Health and Strategy, Spain

Chief Executive, Taff Housing Association

Local and Regional Government Industry Lead, Microsoft UK

CEO, Alzheimer's Society

President of ADASS from April 2019

Director, Centre for Health Solutions, Deloitte LLP

Director of Business Development & Innovation, Carers UK

Head of Strategic Commissioning, Hampshire County Council

Chief Executive, Home Instead Senior Care UK

Chief Officer, Transformation and Innovation, for the Adults and Health Directorate for Leeds City Council

CAREGiver of the Year, 2018

Medical Director, NHS National Services Scotland

Chief Executive, Care England

Director of Adult Social Care at the Department of Health and Social Care

President of TSA and former Care Minister

Director, PA Consulting Group

Associate – Technology Strategy, TSA